Scottish Colleges Strike Action Update

March 30, 2021

SNIPEF continues to review the position regarding strike action proposed by EIS/FELA across colleges throughout Scotland, regarding the use of tutor/assessor/instructor roles.

While the planned action for Tuesday 16 March 2021 did not take place, action did take place on 25 March 2021 and we understand that further action is proposed to take place on the following dates:

  • Wednesday 31 March, Thursday 1 April 2021
  • Tuesday 20 April, Wednesday 21 April 2021
  • Tuesday 27 April, Wednesday 28 April, Thursday 29 April
  • Tuesday 4 May, Wednesday 5 May, Thursday 6 May
  • Tuesday 11 May, Wednesday 12 May, Thursday 13 May

Due to current Scottish Government guidance around Covid-19, a number of students continue to learn online. As a result, some classes will go ahead on strike days and apprentices should be told if this is the case by their lecturer.

If the class is scheduled to take place, apprentices should make every effort to attend either online or in-person at the college. Each college may have different arrangements and we will endeavour to brief employer and apprentices as information becomes available. 

We appreciate that the uncertainty and last minute changes are not helpful to employers trying to plan work. The action is also likely to impact the planning schedules discussed with colleges to complete outstanding work which resulted from colleges being closed during the pandemic.

The Regional Training Officers are in daily communication with the colleges and we will continue to update you as information becomes available but this may be at very short notice.

The situation is very much out of our hands and while negotiations continue to take place between EIS/FELA and Colleges Scotland we ask yet again for your patience and flexibility.

Information about the strikes can be found on the EIS website

If you have any questions in relation to the above please email us at training@snipef.org.

« Read more news

Read PlumbHeat

Not a member? Enter your details below for a sneak peek of our latest issue of our quarterly magazine.
Cover of theAutumn Issue issue
Cover of theSummer 2021 issue
Cover of theSpring 2021 issue